Coldplay Release Second Mylo Xyloto Single, Reveal Rihanna Feature


Coldplay may have revealed the tracklisting and cover art for the forthcoming Brian Eno-produced Mylo Xyloto on Friday afternoon, but that hardly means they’re not savvy to the news cycle. This morning they premiered the album’s second single, “Paradise,” on BBC1 (and then YouTube), and revealed that the track “Princess of China” would feature vocals from Rihanna. That’s how you promote an album.

As for the single itself, it’s another big-sounding Coldplay track, though unlike “Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall,” which this song’s lyrics reference, there’s no sample here—unless you count the break in the intro, seemingly ready-made for rap freestyles. The somewhat trance-y sound of the first single is here integrated into Coldplay’s historical sound, so it sounds more like a natural progression of their music than the product of a really great Ibiza trip Chris Martin took.

The deluge of Coldplay news also includes details about the “Pop-Up Album” version of Mylo Xyloto, which includes not only the album on CD, vinyl, and mp3 download, but also a 64 page 12″ x 12″ hardcover “containing graffiti pop-up art” along the lines of the album’s art, designed by David A. Carter. What we’re really curious about, though, is the “selection of stickers and stencils,” because our Lisa Frank love has never waned. But we’ll have to wait—though Mylo Xyloto is available on October 25, the pop-up version won’t be available until mid-December.

Paradise Is Here, Pre-Order The Album [Coldplay]

related stories
you might like
Powered By Zergnet